Moments of Madness and Weighing-In

Ever have one of those moments when you walk by something in the store and all you can think is “ohmigod, I want it. I want it, I want it, I want it!”? Who am I kidding? I’m sure we’ve all had them. In the past, that was usually something like chocolate. Or sour patch kids. Or pizza. Or ice cream. Or insert some other sugary/fatty/not good for you item here. Too often that was the case.

Today, I had one of those moments, but in such a way that I was glad to give in. Right before lunch (I know, not the best time to go to the store), I skedaddled over to the Safeway in Downtown San Jose to pick up spinach and salad greens for today’s lunchtime tuna wrap (which was yum, I’ll share the recipe later), and found myself in the fruit and vegetables aisle salivating over a Bosc pear. A pear! No, not over the chocolate dipping sauce for strawberries! I was salivating over a freaking pear!

Who is this person and what have you done with Zan???

No, really, it was a pear!

If there’s anything that tells me I’m going in the right direction, that’s it. Craving a pear. Heh.

But, seriously, you have to understand – before today – I’ve never bought a pear for myself. People have bought them for me or brought them to me, but never has this occured. Go figure.

Sadly, I had the last of my Moroccan Couscous salad as an accompaniment to my lunchtime tuna wrap (and Bosc Pear!!!). I can – without a shadow of a doubt – say, four days later, it was just as good as the first day. *happy dance*

In other happy news of how my life has changed fifty pounds later, someone (who I consider pretty athletic) asked me why I walk so fast. What?!?! Me walk fast? You’re kidding me, right? But apparently I do. Wow.

And, finally, the Weigh-in. You know, it’s funny, I was actually looking forward to my Weight Watchers meeting last night. After a few weeks of shuffling back and forth over the same pound I knew I had lost weight.

Week of 4/28/10 Stats

Starting Weight: 291.6

Previous Weight: 249.2 lbs
Current Weight: 248.0 lbs
Difference: -1.2 lbs

Total Weight Removed: -43.6 lbs
Total Percentage of Weight Removed: 14.9% (nearly 15%. W00t!!!)

Initially, I was disappointed because I really thought I had lost more, but – you know – I’m just happy getting deeper into the mid-240’s. And before you know it, that’s be the 230’s. Here I go!!!!

About singingforasmallerme

I'm just a girl doing a thing. A little sarcastic, a little cynical, and a total sassbot. Nothing's off limits here, but my primary focus is weight loss. Still, you might find commentary on anything ranging from makeup to music to fashion to beer and dancing.
This entry was posted in Ramblings, The Third Twenty Pounds, Weigh-In, Weight loss, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moments of Madness and Weighing-In

  1. shrinkingirl says:

    Wow. Look at you go. There are so many great things in this post I don’t know where to start.
    First, you made me laugh with DYING to have a pear. I’ve been there… and trust me, it gets even more strange the more you head down this path… wait until you stumble across a recipe for vegan oatmeal with chia seeds and banana and go OMG I HAVE TO HAVE THAT. Then you’ll know you’re truly over the deep end. In the meantime… welcome to that crazy land of “I’m craving the good food.”
    Second, Congrats on losing weight! yay! 15% is a great amount and you’re sooo almost there I’m calling it there.
    Third, OMG I know exactly what you mean about the walking!!!! I used to wonder why I seemed to saunter when everyone else seemed as though they were on a mission… and now… yeah, I tend to outwalk a lot of those people. It’s a great feeling… enjoy every last second of it!

    • Thanks!! It’s been odd all around. I’ve lost weight before but never had people notice so many changes in me, and I’ve never felt quite so different before. I reaaly feel like I’m adding years back to my life, and changing my attitude about life and food.

  2. Yay! That’s wonderful. It’s just so nice to overcome a sticky number.

    I think it means our bodies are finally tuning into nutrients they need and cravings are starting to serve their real biological reason.

    Great job.

Leave a comment