Getting My Groove Back Challenge, Week One Look Back

Last week I challenged myself to get back into the groove of working out. The challenge was pretty cut and dry: workout three times a week for thirty minutes over the next four weeks for a total of at least twelve workouts. Extra Workouts in a week do not carry over to the next week. My thought process was pretty simple: get moving, stop obsessing over not meeting lofty goals, and have fun with working out again.

Week One was certainly succesful. It’s like something broke through after saying I didn’t have to workout five days a week for an hour a day. Suddenly, the energy to pull myself off the couch after work, change into my workout clothes, and throw on a DVD magically appeared. Better yet, I felt no guilt for taking more than one day off in a row, and my energy levels are getting back to where they should be. Go fig.

Progress on the Getting My Groove Back Challenge:

Getting My Groove Back Challenge:
March 22 – April 18, 2010: 4 weeks, 3 workouts a week, at least 12 workouts

Week 1 (3/22 – 3/28): 4/3 Total: 4 workouts total

  • Monday – Jillian Michaels Thirty Day Shred
  • Tuesday – Day Off
  • Wednesday – Petra Kolber’s Bootcamp Boogie and Upper Body Workout
  • Thursday – Belly Dance Workout and Lower Body Workout
  • Friday – Day Off
  • Saturday – Day Off
  • Sunday – Weight Watchers Gettin’ Fit Workout (High Intensity); Quick Fix Cardio Kickboxing Work Out, Upper Body Focus

Week 2 (3/29 – 4/04): 1/3 Total: 5 workouts total

  • Monday – Yoga Booty Ballet

Week 3 (4/05 – 4/11): 0/3 Total: 0
Week 4 (4/12 – 4/18): 0/3 Total: 0

I’m ready and excited for Week 2, and am already off to a great start: one workout in and it’s only the second day of week two!!!!

Has a steady workout program been eluding you? Have you fallen off the workout wagon? Yeah, I know this isn’t a super duper difficult challenge, but that’s not what I needed, and maybe it’s not what you need. Feel free to join in if you wish, you don’t have to finish at the same time. Let me know *your* progress!!!!

About singingforasmallerme

I'm just a girl doing a thing. A little sarcastic, a little cynical, and a total sassbot. Nothing's off limits here, but my primary focus is weight loss. Still, you might find commentary on anything ranging from makeup to music to fashion to beer and dancing.
This entry was posted in Exercise, The Third Twenty Pounds, Weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting My Groove Back Challenge, Week One Look Back

  1. Kelli says:

    GOOD FOR YOU! :) I like reading this. I think so many times we set such lofty exercise goals for ourselves that we skip a day or two and we consider ourselves failures and just throw in the towel all together. I’m doing a “5 minutes a day” challenge right now. I committed to at least 5 minutes on the treadmill (I mean really…what excuse can I come up with not to do that..LOL). Most days I end up doing 15…its the getting up and getting my booty on the thing that’s the real hurdle.

    • Getting rid of the guilt was the key factor for me. And how right you are, those lofty goals can really set one back. Sure, I aim for five days a week, but I’m happy with three days and that’s what’s really important.

Leave a Reply

