Serving Size Perception and Weigh-in 3/10/10

Would it surprise you if I told you my perception of serving sizes is skewed? The funny thing here is that this really isn’t what you think. I can pretty carefully eye a portion of chicken or a serving of steak, but when it comes to estimating a helping of vegetables I’m woefully lacking.

So this meal I’m having for lunch today, it’s a new one by Healthy Choice; this thing looked like it had maybe a quarter of a cup of vegetables:


Imagine my shock as I perused the back to read it supposedly contained 3/4’s of a cup of vegetables.



Seriously?!?! 3/4’s? Really?

Guess I like to have more than three bites of vegetables in my lunch.

But, truthfully, 3/4’s of a cup?

In the grand scheme of things, it’s better to get too many vegetables than not enough, right???

Okay, I fail at veggie serving sizes. Fail, Zan, fail. But I’m still happy about it.

This Week’s Stats

Starting Weight: 291.6

Previous Weight: 256.6 lbs
Current Weight: 254.6 lbs
Difference: -2 lbs

Total Weight Removed: -37.0 lbs
Total Percentage of Weight Removed: 12.6%

I’m just three pounds from that forty pound mark. Holy crud! Guess I’m gonna get my personal forty pound reward pretty soon (will share that list soon): tickets to see Wicked in San Francisco. And then it’s bye, bye to the second twenty pounds, and hello the third thirty pounds!! Woot!

About singingforasmallerme

I'm just a girl doing a thing. A little sarcastic, a little cynical, and a total sassbot. Nothing's off limits here, but my primary focus is weight loss. Still, you might find commentary on anything ranging from makeup to music to fashion to beer and dancing.
This entry was posted in Ramblings, The Second Twenty Pounds, Weight loss, Weight Watchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serving Size Perception and Weigh-in 3/10/10

  1. isladeangela says:

    Hi Suzanne – it’s my first visit to your blog (wave*wave)! I saw your Dr. Beck comment on Tiff’s blog and also left the book a good review so I thought I’d stop by and “look around” :) .

    They must measure their vegetables before they’re cut and cooked because, c’mon – there’s no way that’s 3/4 cup! I agree. We can’t both be wrong?! ha, ha! ~ Angie

    • Thanks for stopping by!

      Lemme tell you, I laughed when I saw that veggie serving. In my mind 3/4’s of a cup is a lot more substantial than that. Am planning on buying again however, and perking it up with additional veggies.

Leave a Reply

