Working up a sweat *is* important

It took me a long time to realize that going to the gym wasn’t really my forte (at least, not yet). If I could get back all the cash I wasted on gym memberships I didn’t/wouldn’t use, I’d have a considerable wad of cash in my pocket. And I’m not much of a “let’s get outside and go for walks” kind of girl (especially with the biting wind outside). That leaves me with essentially one option: working out at home. Until we get rid of a whole lot of stuff, I will not be acquiring either (a) an elliptical machine or (b) a treadmill. Okay, that leaves one “at-home” option: workout DVDs.

This is my current workout DVD collection (sans the two I picked up a couple of nights back and one or two that are elsewhere):


At this moment, I own approximately 20 workout DVDs, and can’t keep myself from wanting more as I mentioned in my last post (and yes, you will notice I alphabetized them. Ah, the wonders of OCD).

My collection started off innocently enough – one DVD from Weight Watchers that had three workouts, “Weight Watchers: Get in Shape”. For a long time, that’s all there was, just one sad, lonely disc among the many DVDs we own.

Over the past two or so years, I added a couple more videos to mix it up (under the delusion that I would just start working out, but that’s another story) – two hula based videos and one Bollywood dance style video; still, it stayed fairly even around five discs. I’ll admit I had one thing correct: variety is key to keeping at it, but I never let myself get into the routine.

Since beginning down this weight loss path again, however, that has changed. I don’t find it unusual now to wake up at 5:30 in the morning, toss on my workout clothes, grab water, coffee, and head out to the family room to pop on a DVD. It didn’t take me long to realize, though, I would quickly get bored with that first DVD, and upon reviewing the others knew I needed some more cardio based workouts (and, call me crazy, but I love interval training), so I picked up another one at the next Weight Watchers meeting. From there, I picked up a couple online, bought a few at the store, received a couple as gifts, and before you know it I’m working on a shelf full of videos.

Side note: Collage Video hasn’t helped much either. Check them out, they have the most comprehensive collection of workout DVDs I’ve seen for sale, and great reviews! I don’t think about buying a new DVD without first consulting their site.

It’s been a while since I popped on that first DVD (the WW one) at 5:30 in the morning, and many sweat-dripping workout sessions. This morning I figured I’d go back to it. A few minutes into the warm-up on the moderate intensity workout and I realized that it wasn’t as difficult as I remembered. If memory serves me the last time I did that particular workout I sweated like a pig, but as the workout progressed I felt pretty comfortable. Go figure. For giggles, I switched over to the last two circuits of the high intensity workout (which I tried once before and it kicked my butt) before I cooled down. Yeah, it was more difficult, but I was keeping up, and finally sweating! Guess the next time I use this one, I’ll do both the moderate intensity and the high intensity workout.

Believe it or not, but I’m actually getting more fit! I was incredulous when I read that workouts that seemed hard at first would get easier, but there’s my proof. If I can’t see it, I can feel it, and that is what really matters.

About singingforasmallerme

I'm just a girl doing a thing. A little sarcastic, a little cynical, and a total sassbot. Nothing's off limits here, but my primary focus is weight loss. Still, you might find commentary on anything ranging from makeup to music to fashion to beer and dancing.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Ramblings, The First Twenty Pounds and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working up a sweat *is* important

  1. shrinkingirl says:

    WooHoo! Isn’t it great when you can actually notice progress in something other than the numbers on a scale? Way to go! I wish DVDs did it for me, but I’ve never found one I could stick with. Kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

